top of page



Celebrating our 14th year of awarding the El-Hibri Peace Prize

The El-Hibri Foundation awards an annual $50,000 El-Hibri Peace Prize to individuals who have dedicated their lives to building inclusive communities in the United States and building the capacity of others to lead and create positive social change.

The prize is intended to celebrate and encourage individuals who embody the principles of peace, justice, and inclusion.

To date, thirteen individuals, including community organizers, scholars, and activists, have been awarded the El-Hibri Peace Prize. Previous winners have made a significant impact in building resilient, equitable, and inclusive communities through education, activism, and capacity building. Click here to learn more about them.


Eligibility Nominations will be considered for mid to late career leaders based in the United States whose primary work is focused on domestic audiences and aligned with the strategic focus areas of EHF are eligible. These individuals will have demonstrated:

  • Impact through building or leading significant initiatives, organizations, or movements that model inclusive practices and educate and/or build collaboration across diverse audiences;

  • Innovation through effectively implementing cutting-edge community building techniques or approaches that reduce discrimination and promote mutual understanding, respect, inclusion, and collaboration; and/or

  • Influence by using their platforms to advance inclusion in America, building the leadership capacity of others to catalyze positive social change, and serving as exemplary models of inclusion resulting in the wide use of their community building approaches, techniques, or programs.

This includes: 

  • Social change activists and nonprofit leaders who have developed effective partnerships across sectors or implemented collaborative community building initiatives that have demonstrably reduced discrimination against marginalized communities and affirmed human dignity using innovative programs and methods, such as social media, to reach and affect larger audiences;

  • Thought leaders who have produced influential works on inclusion, social justice, and community building that have significantly transformed cultural frameworks or narratives, or who have demonstrated by their own example significant social and moral courage and exemplary leadership in standing up for the rights and wellbeing of marginalized and vulnerable communities;

  • Policymakers who have successfully implemented significant inclusion, diversity, and social justice initiatives across sectors or provided exceptional leadership in championing inclusiveness in community and educational settings;

  • Institution builders who have led and implemented significant inclusive community-building or collaborative ally-building initiatives in nonprofit settings; and

  • Cultural producers who have dedicated their art to advancing inclusion in America and have utilized their platforms to promote inclusive societal norms.


Selection Criteria
Finalists will be selected based on the following criteria: 

Working across difference

  • Demonstrated leadership in building inclusive movements or effective bridge-building across difference;

  • Demonstrated commitment to reducing discrimination against vulnerable communities;

  • Equipped marginalized communities or individuals with leadership, collaboration, and conflict resolution skills;

  • Raised awareness about the positive contributions of diversity by utilizing their platforms to foster inclusion;

  • Demonstrated commitment to civic engagement; and/or

  • Effectively implemented cutting edge techniques or approaches to promote mutual understanding, inclusion, and collaboration.

Creating unique and broad-based institutional impact

  • Demonstrated ability to build groundbreaking and successful organizations that reflect inclusion and a commitment to diversity, accountability, and transparency;

  • Demonstrated success in building partnerships and collaboration;

  • Demonstrated commitment to learning, evaluation, and sharing best practices;

  • Established credibility among a diverse group of stakeholders; and/or

  • Demonstrated ability to scale or reach wider audiences.


Selection Process 

The El-Hibri Peace Prize is awarded based on a ranking of criteria from nominations received through the online form during the open application period. Members of the El-Hibri Peace Prize Selection Committee include experts in community organizing and community building. The selection process may include interviews with references familiar with the nominee’s unique contributions to building or advancing inclusive communities.

Self-nominations will not be considered for this award.

Nominations are closed for the 2022 Peace Awards. Click here to learn about our 2022 award recipients


Please direct any inquiries to  

bottom of page