top of page

2015 El-Hibri Peace Education Prize Nominations Open


Contact: Rev. Bud Heckman +1-202-387-9500 Director of Outreach, El-Hibri Foundation

2015 EL-HIBRI PEACE EDUCATION PRIZE NOMINATIONS OPEN $30,000 Cash Prize For Innovation, Impact and Leadership in the Field of Peace Education

Washington, D.C. – The El-Hibri Foundation is pleased to announce the open period for receipt of nominations for the 9th Annual El-Hibri Peace Education Prize. Nominations may be made online between March 16 and May 17, 2015. An independent vetting committee will select one individual to be honored as the 2015 Peace Education Laureate at a ceremony in the fall of 2015. Since its inauguration, the El-Hibri Peace Education Prize has been awarded to eight distinguished scholars and scholar/activists. Past recipients of the Prize include the following distinguished Laureates: Abdul Aziz Said (2007), Scott Kennedy (2008), Mary Elizabeth King (2009), Colman McCarthy (2010), Gene Sharp (2011), Chaiwat Satha-Anand (2012) and Betty A. Reardon (2013), and Pietro Ameglio (2014). Fuad and Nancy El-Hibri established the El-Hibri Peace Education Prize in 2007 to raise awareness about the importance of peace education by honoring those who pioneered and championed the development of the field. In 2015, the Prize also invites nominations from new categories of peace education contributors, including but not limited to: teachers, administrators, scholars, social change activists and policymakers. The nominations form and supporting information are found on

About the El-Hibri Foundation

Founded by an American Muslim family, the El-Hibri Foundation supports peace education and interreligious cooperation through grants for promising groups, awards that recognize leadership and programs that promote learning and bridge-building. The El-Hibri Foundation is a 501(c)(3) charitable foundation based in Washington, D.C.


bottom of page